Add a review
For pricing & availability
I like that there's a lot of activities to keep my dad busy and social. However, the dining area needs to hire quality staff for serving and cooking. The chef that was there when my dad first moved there left, and they haven't got the kitchen back to the level that it was before. Unfortunately, my dad pays all that money, but he ends up ordering in a lot because the food there is just horrible... Read more
Savanna House delivers an upscale retirement experience at its senior living community in Gilbert, Arizona. The resort-style grounds resemble an oasis retreat with pristine landscaping, towering palm trees, and desert plants. Bright and airy indoor common areas make it easy for residents to enjoy their favorite activities, whether it’s pampering themselves at the on-site salon, enjoying popcorn and a classic film in the theater room, or settling down with a great book in the library.
Professional caregivers are available around the clock to provide assistance with activities of daily living, medication management, and memory care services. The pet-friendly community has studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom apartments with select wheelchair-accessible and kitchenette-equipped units to choose from. Residents can delight in amenities such as in-room and restaurant-style dining, transportation services, and weekly housekeeping.
The area offers ample shopping to satisfy all tastes and budgets at Superstition Springs Center, Greenfield Gateway, and Mesa Grand Shopping Center. Nearby dining ranges from Mediterranean, Mexican, and Italian cuisine to barbecue and seafood. Popular nearby attractions include Papago Park, the Phoenix Art Museum, and the Arizona Boardwalk. Top-notch medical care is less than 10 miles away at Banner Baywood Medical Center, and Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport is about a...
Read More
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
8.6
Review Score
Review Score
46 reviews8.6
Out of 10
5 star
50%
4 star
31%
3 star
11%
2 star
5%
1 star
5%
A Place for Mom has scored Savanna House with 8.6 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 13 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, Savanna House has 46 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 4.1 out of 5.
4.4
4.4
3.8
4.0
4.2
4.1
4.0
The staff are friendly but could improve on response times, and there are great activities.
4
5
4
3
5
5
3
Response from Savanna House
July 31, 2024Thank you for your review and for highlighting the friendliness of our team and the great activities at Savanna House. We appreciate your feedback on response times and will work to make improvements in this area. Your comments are important to us as we strive to provide the best care possible. If you have any further suggestions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out.
I like that there's a lot of activities to keep my dad busy and social. However, the dining area needs to hire quality staff for serving and cooking. The chef that was there when my dad first moved there left, and they haven't got the kitchen back to the level that it was before. Unfortunately, my dad pays all that money, but he ends up ordering in a lot because the food there is just horrible
Read More5
5
1
4
4
5
3
Response from Savanna House
July 31, 2024Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the positive aspects of Savanna House, such as our activities and friendly team. Your comments are valuable to us, and we appreciate your patience as we address these issues. If you have any further suggestions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out.
Memory care is divided into 3 neighborhoods with 10-15 residents eating in their own kitchen/dining room together with resident given 2 options for each meal. Doors open into a relaxing shaded quad area to sit, exercise, visit others or stop in the ice cream bar anytime. Each day starts with an uplifting reading and a couple activities each morning and afternoon are interspersed with bingo, music, art, exercise and memory games in different small group areas. Staff is upbeat but sometimes short handed. Jack & Jill rooms are clean and allow some personal touches for their own things, a TV and some privacy. The atmosphere is homelike rather than like a “cruise ship” and is a better fit with the small groups learning to function more like a family.
Read More5
5
4
4
4
4
5
Response from Savanna House
July 31, 2024Thank you for your detailed review and for highlighting the various aspects of our memory care community. We're glad to hear you appreciate the relaxing environment, the structured activities, and the homelike atmosphere we strive to create. Your feedback about our upbeat team and the need for additional staffing is valuable, and we are continually working to improve. If you have any further comments or need assistance, please feel free to reach out.
My dad loved the food. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The phone situation was frustrating. If a patient does not have a phone in the room the call had to be transferred to the nurses station. After hours and weekends it usually didn't work. I bought a phone on Amazon that only received calls. It had no numbers on it.
Read More5
5
5
5
5
5
5
Response from Savanna House
May 2, 2024Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our community.
For the most part, the staff is friendly and helpful. However, I believe at times they are short staffed. Specifically during the overnights. The Director of Activities is inclusive and high energy. She is very good about trying to include all of the residents in the various activities. The concierge in the lobby are fantastic. Very friendly and welcoming. It is very nice to have an on site medical assistant, but sometimes they are difficult to get ahold of when you have questions. However, overall, I feel that my loved one is safe and being cared for.
Read More5
4
3
3
3
3
3
Response from Savanna House
January 25, 2024Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear that you find our staff friendly and helpful, and that the activities and concierge services are meeting your expectations. We take your concern about staffing, particularly during overnight hours, very seriously and will review our staffing levels to ensure continuous, quality care for all residents. We appreciate your recognition of our on-site medical assistant and will work on improving accessibility and communication. Your sense of security in your loved one's care is our highest priority, and we're committed to making necessary improvements. Thank you for entrusting us with their care.
There could be more staffing at Savanna House, that could be an improvement, but this community still outshined any other facility we had toured. For the value maybe just put the 10% expected increase yearly
Read More5
5
5
3
5
5
3
Response from Savanna House
October 10, 2023Thank you so much for your feedback and positive review. We appreciate it very much!
I can't say enough about [name removed], the apt. AND [name removed] won him over! I think because she spoke to him, not me! I know he'll be taken care of at Savanna House!
Read More5
5
5
5
5
5
5
Response from Savanna House
September 20, 2023We love this review -- thank you so much for taking the time to express your kind words and for trusting Savanna House with your dear one. We hope he enjoys his home at Savanna House.
Kind of a rocky start to our time at Savanna House. But the addition of new E.D. was all the difference. She made necessary changes that resulted in a well run machines!
5
5
4
5
4
5
4
Response from Savanna House
September 20, 2023We are so happy to hear that our new ED made a difference for you and your loved one. Feedback like yours is important to us and we can't thank you enough!
Our Mother has been on the memory care side and all I can say is that it is horrible from the top down. Management is not trained or professional. People are moving out left and right and they cannot keep Caregivers or Medtechs which should tell you something. The facility is not kept up, is not clean and the food has to be the worst in the valley. We were told this was one of the best but after 7 months and first hand experience it is a horrible place and the Directors on both sides should be removed!!
Read More1
1
1
1
1
1
1
Response from Savanna House
September 1, 2023One of our core values is honesty – so we appreciate your candid feedback. We will follow up immediately with the Executive Director at Savanna House to see how we can best prevent this issue in the future. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention and we’re sorry for any inconvenience.
The staff have been very responsive to our needs. I did not rate the activities or can't. I believe to rate I would need to compare facilities. I'm rating on experience, not necessarily on my parents. However, if they are happy I am happy.
Read More5
5
5
4
No data collected
5
No data collected
Response from Savanna House
August 11, 2023As one of our core principles, we embrace open communications. Thank you for yours! We appreciate hearing that our professional staff of associates are providing your parents with such a wonderful experience. Thank you for your kind words about Savanna House, we love having them here!
The Directress and Lead Medical Person met with my sister and I. We reviewed our parent's health, both physical and cognitive, and levels of care they receive. It was an honest and productive conversation.
Read More4
5
5
4
3
4
4
Response from Savanna House
July 24, 2023We take trust and respect very seriously at MBK Senior Living. We’re delighted to know you and your loved ones received nothing but the utmost trust and respect from our Savanna House team. Thank you for letting us know about the impact we had on you.
My choice was made on Savanna House from the moment I walked in the lobby, I was greeted and treated with kindness, respect and understanding. With the difficult decision to place a loved one in a memory care, the staff lifted the weight off by answering questions and providing reassuring solutions to assist my family with amazing care and environment. Our loved one deserves in memory care.
Read More5
5
No data collected
5
5
5
5
Response from Savanna House
July 21, 2023Thank you for your kind words. We’re so pleased to hear you had such a positive experience at our Savanna House community. As part of our company purpose, we strive to exceed the quality, service and care expectations of those we serve. Your comments tell us we’re one step closer to achieving just that!
Our loved ones are overall very happy with everything else at the community, but when it comes to the meals that is the issue. Sometimes it is served cold, and the dining service is lacking a bit.
Read More5
4
3
5
No data collected
4
4
Response from Savanna House
April 6, 2023Thank you for your honest feedback as it is vital to continuous improvement -- a trait we firmly believe in at Savanna House. We'll address your concerns with our Executive Director and Chef. If there is anything more we can help with to make your parents more comfortable, please reach out.
They just do not have their crap together. The communication between shifts is horrible. Seems like the turnover is high. My loved one was not eating or drinking and getting very dehydrated and no one was doing anything about it until he was having to be hospitalized. He had bedsores. Just a not good experience for the level of care that would be expected in such a facility with such a high price tag.
Read More4
4
3
2
No data collected
2
2
The managerial staff have minimal follow through given situations. It took over 9 weeks to get a refund. Everyone is always busy or in a meeting and they do not call you back. We were always getting the runaround. my father in law was having challenges and it was probably not the best placement for him. There is a person who works here and her name is [name removed]. She handled it with zero empathy or understanding. She was so hurtful and disrespectful and did not take the family dynamic into consideration at all.
Read More5
4
5
4
5
1
5
It was a smaller community, and was vey nice. My loved one liked the set-up and the people. It felt very homey. They did not have any rooms available at the time.
My overall sense has become positive. The settling in was a little difficult, there was some lack of clarity about billing and medications. My loved one had gotten all of her medications through United Healthcare and they wanted it set up through someone else. They were going to distribute the medications, which would've cost a couple hundred dollars. So, there were little hiccups within settling, but once that was addressed I've been happy since.
Read More5
5
5
4
5
4
4
We chose Savanna House because we liked the friendly people we met and the rates were a lot lower than where she previously lived. The location is a mile from us so that was a big factor too. When we toured the residents were talking to us and telling us how nice it was and how much they liked it there. They have identified that my mother needs to go to memory care and the staff have been very willing to work with us on that and even let her pick out her room and held it while I was away.
Read More5
5
3
4
No data collected
5
5
My friend recommended this place. That was the best recommendation we could get. This was what we chose. It was the friendliest. It was the best. The smell was good. My friend is very happy there. The only issue was her medications were a bit early but that was addressed. Something they could address is taking care of residents pets who lived in assisted living and get moved to memory care area. The staff are very friendly. They address us every time we visit.
Read More4.5
5
No data collected
4.5
3
5
No data collected
The main reasons we chose this community was based on the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff. Our loved one says at times they give them to much food but other than that he does not complain about the taste. We have not heard any complaints with the activities he seems to really be enjoying them. We knew going into this community it was going to be expensive and it is a little but on the pricier side.
Read More5
5
No data collected
5
5
5
4
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Savanna House offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Semi-Private. Learn more.
A Place for Mom has scored Savanna House 8.6 out of 10 using our proprietary review score.
We assign review scores to give a more reliable view into senior living communities and home care agencies. Our review scores prioritize reviews that are recent — the past 24 months — because we know families need current information when choosing senior care.
Those with many recent, positive reviews receive a high review score, while providers with few recent reviews — regardless of how positive — receive a lower review score. Communities with no recent reviews will not have a review score, even if older reviews are positive. The maximum A Place for Mom review score a community can receive is 10 points.
Call (480) 900-6815 to reach a resident at Savanna House.
To reach a resident at Savanna House call: (480) 900-6815
Studio, Semi-Private
Visions Senior Living Mesa is an assisted living and memory care community in Mesa, Arizona. For more detailed information about amenities, features and services, or to schedule an appointment, please call us.
Studio, Semi-Private
Whitestone Senior Living provides a secure environment for those with beginning and advanced Alzheimer's, dementia, and other memory-related conditions. The community offers spacious walking paths, green grass, and gorgeous mature trees. Our highly trained staff are in each Cottage 24/7, this way...
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Living WellWhen you walk through our front door, you will discover we’re an independent living, assisted living, and memory care community in Mesa, Arizona. But if you stick around, you’ll soon realize we’re more than that. We’re a family made up of charming and fascinating residents, their...
Studio, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private, 2bd
The Citadel Senior Living Community allows seniors to maintain their independence with access to assistance and support services when needed. We offer both Assisted and Independent Living.The Citadel is unique in that independent residents can live together in a community that is geared toward...
1bd, 2bd, Studio
With more than 30 thriving communities, Cadence Living® is proud to offer a safe, friendly and comfortable environment for thousands of happy residents across the country to call home. Our experienced leadership and team members serve with integrity, compassion and expertise as they strive to...
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.