Add a review
For pricing & availability
Heritage Lake Country has been GREAT! The facility itself is beautiful and well maintained. The staff all address my Mother by name, as well as asking her about events that she's involved in. She enjoys the activities that are offered. I routinely receive updates from Heritage related to events and facility updates. Available medical care and monitoring has been excellent.... Read more
Welcome to Heritage Lake Country senior living community in Hartland, Wisconsin! This community provides independent living, assisted living, and memory care services to seniors in the quaint town of Hartland, Wisconsin. Staff members work to create safe and welcoming spaces for seniors to lead active lifestyles — where they engage their minds and spirits with a wide variety of activities and services.
Heritage Lake Country is conveniently located near area shopping and restaurants, with easy access to all the natural beauty Hartland has to offer. Residents here can take advantage of the many parks, lakes, and even state forests in the area, filled with fishing, boating, walking, hiking, and biking for seniors of all experience levels.
Heritage Lake Country offers a variety of specialized care services, with community therapists available to provide additional support and services as needed. Residents enjoy meals prepared by the professional chef in the restaurant-style dining room, where nutrition and satisfaction meet. Special meal programs are available for residents who require dietary accommodations.
Residents may enjoy the spacious indoor and outdoor common areas such as the indoor pool, game room, beauty parlor, outdoor patio and fire pit, and cozy fireplace. Scheduled on-site and off-site...
Read More
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
8.8
Review Score
Review Score
23 reviews8.8
Out of 10
5 star
27%
4 star
44%
3 star
9%
2 star
18%
1 star
5%
A Place for Mom has scored Heritage Lake Country with 8.8 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 4 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, Heritage Lake Country has 23 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 3.6 out of 5.
3.7
3.8
4.3
3.4
3.7
4.3
3.4
Heritage Lake Country has been GREAT! The facility itself is beautiful and well maintained. The staff all address my Mother by name, as well as asking her about events that she's involved in. She enjoys the activities that are offered. I routinely receive updates from Heritage related to events and facility updates. Available medical care and monitoring has been excellent.
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
Overall it has been a good experience and my mom seems happy there. However, there's one lady at the front desk that is always very rude to me and many times I have sent emails to the staff trying to get an update on my mom's condition and they typically never get back to me so the communication piece is not great.
4
4
5
3
5
4
4
I feel there is a lot of inconsistency, and it's sometimes difficult to get matters addressed. The activities director has done a lovely job of getting my mom to participate and be involved. Getting someone to clean a bathroom can be impossible, and getting someone to fix something broken in a room can be impossible as well.
3
5
4
4
4
5
4
I would say my mom seems very happy there. We picked it because of location and the facility was nice.
5
4
5
5
5
5
4
What we really like about Heritage Lake Country is our loved one's room- it is quite spacious and comfortable. The administration is usually very responsive. It's not easy to contact the different departments by phone. However, improvement in communication between families could be better.
4
4
4
4
4
4
4
The community made my loved one feel safe, and this was the most important to us. The staff has also been helpful. We feel that everything is going well, and there is no improvements needed at this time.
4
4
4
4
4
4
4
Good community, too far from family to visit.
We had a great tour experience with Heritage Lake Country. We ended up deciding on another place over this one, but either way we would have been comfortable having mom here as well. It looked like a great facility.
This community was nice but I just did not get the feeling that this was the place for my loved one when I walked in.
This facility is awesome, don’t look anywhere else! The absolutely care, have staff that cares, nice activities,. They do what you expect and more! Great job team
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
This place is amazing
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
Felt like a big hotel and not as friendly environment. Best room with a separate bedroom, large living room and kitchen space but they would be on the 2nd floor without views of green space and didn’t like the feel of hallway and elevator outside their room.
4
4
4
4
4
It has been a terrible experience for us. The main point is the community didn't assess my loved one correctly. They wouldn't take the long term insurance and they wouldn't take any claims because the community put her in independent living. My loved one never left their room. The staff seemed annoyed by the call button requests There is a lot of turnover. It is a new build for the community.
1
2
2
1
1
2
1
The community was fairly new. The expectations that we were told would happen, didn't meet our expectations. The staff turnover was significant during my loved one's stay. Anytime we tried to speak to the administration team about my loved one's care, they made it seem it was two different things. The head nurse didn't help us at all during the time my loved one was there.
I would want others to know when looking into Heritage Lake Country to not move your loved one in here at this time. They have a high turn over in staff, including the executive director. They had 2 changes this past year. Some of the CNAS were wonderful, some were horrible. There were a lot of problems with getting paperwork sorted out, they lost my moms paperwork for weeks. They were also out of a lot of over the counter medication, so my mom would be out of stuff for days. I am hoping the new director can turn it around, but we are not waiting around.
4
3
2
3
1
It is a good place. I have felt comfortable having my mom there. Just like with all places there are good and bad. Some of the staff is not completely trustworthy. The food leaves some thing to be desired. They repeated the same dishes, Layout was great.
5
5
3.5
4
4
My mom has been here for a while now and, while initially there was a lot of staff turnover and some deficiencies, things seemed to have settled down since the current Executive Director, [name removed] arrived. The facility itself is beautiful. We attributed some of the initial problems to the fact that the facility was new so we stuck with it and we are now fairly satisfied.
4
4
4
4
4
Response from Heritage Lake Country
July 8, 2019We are so glad that you've seen an improvement and that your mom is doing well at Heritage Lake Country! Providing a comfortable and caring environment for all of our residents is very important to us. Thank you for your comments!
Do not go here or send your loved ones!! Dad was here less than 2 months. Short staffed, staff that doesn't care, upper staff does not reply to emails, they do not follow through on what they promise for care. Nice facility, but care sucks!!
1.5
0.5
1
1.5
0.5
Response from Heritage Lake Country
July 8, 2019We're so sorry to hear about your dad's experiences here! It's our goal to provide each and every resident with high-quality and attentive care. The staffing shortage in the industry has sometimes made it difficult to remain fully staffed, however in the last few months we have made this a priority and have seen a dramatic improvement in staffing and care levels. We hope your father is doing well!
The facility is new so very lovely. The food is adequate. With so many different diets and health issues to consider I am aware that meals can't be restaurant taste. I am disappoint in the lack of knowledgeable care in the assisted living area. My friend has lived there for nine months and there is only one person including administration that I know of who is still working there. The turnover is frequent although that maybe typical of assisted and nursing care jobs. My friend was just moved to the memory care unit so maybe there is better healthcare there.
5
5
2
2.5
2.5
Response from Heritage Lake Country
November 13, 2018We are glad that you found the community to be attractive. Providing a clean and comfortable environment for all of our residents and guests is very important to us. However, we're saddened to learn that your friend's health care needs haven't been satisfactorily dressed. We will look into the matters you have brought up to determine how we can improve. If you have any specific recommendations, please contact our quality department.
There was a very strong smell of sewer gas (no doubt a dry trap/drain) in the model room they were showing us. Then the tour person also commented that sometimes that same smell was in the dining room below. I told her that we could fix it because that was a dry trap/drain and we ran water down all of the sinks and shower in that room. Voila—problem solved. And decent maintenance person should have figured that out. Obviously we got off on the wrong foot. The tour guide seemed nervous and ill prepared
2
2
2
2
2
Response from Heritage Lake Country
August 22, 2018We're sorry that your tour experience at Heritage Lake Country was less than adequate. Providing a positive experience for our guests is very important to us. We will utilize your comments to help improve our tour experience.
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Heritage Lake Country offers 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Studio. Learn more.
A Place for Mom has scored Heritage Lake Country 8.8 out of 10 using our proprietary review score.
We assign review scores to give a more reliable view into senior living communities and home care agencies. Our review scores prioritize reviews that are recent — the past 24 months — because we know families need current information when choosing senior care.
Those with many recent, positive reviews receive a high review score, while providers with few recent reviews — regardless of how positive — receive a lower review score. Communities with no recent reviews will not have a review score, even if older reviews are positive. The maximum A Place for Mom review score a community can receive is 10 points.
Call (262) 367-2975 to reach a resident at Heritage Lake Country.
To reach a resident at Heritage Lake Country call: (262) 367-2975
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
1bd, 2bd, Studio
EVIN IS CURRENTLY FULL WITH A WAITLIST!! Evin at Oconomowoc is the newest senior living community in Lake Country! Located along Silver Lake Street on the site of the former Town and Country YMCA, and alongside the public 18-hole Paganica Golf Course, Evin isn’t just a place to live, it’s a place...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Avalon Square is a beautiful, vibrant senior living community encompassing an entire city block in historic downtown Waukesha. Cultural activities, parks, and a charming mix of shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. Construction of Avalon Square was completed in 2003, consisting...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Oak Hill Terrace is a community for senior living in Waukesha, Wisconsin. You’ll feel like you’re part of a friendly neighborhood when you walk into Oak Hill Terrace. With easy access to the Fox River Sanctuary and the Glacial Drumlin Trail, we’re a close-knit community woven into the fabric of...
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.