My loved one is currently a resident at Lorien Harmony Hall and the experience has been mostly great. The friendliness, staff and care services are great. The music and activities are also great. I would recommend this facility to others.... Read more
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
8.8
Review Score
Review Score
36 reviews8.8
Out of 10
5 star
56%
4 star
14%
3 star
23%
2 star
6%
1 star
3%
A Place for Mom has scored Lorien Harmony Hall with 8.8 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 13 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, Lorien Harmony Hall has 36 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 4.1 out of 5.
4.2
4.2
3.7
4.0
4.0
4.2
3.9
If you are bed ridden and need full time care this is not the place for you. You are better suited in a nursing home environment. However the PT staff in the beginning was outstanding. The nursing staff needs more FTEs as they are stretched way too thin. Food-should be served hot. Activities-just not inclusive like other facilities I've seen. Small participation in activities except bingo.
4
3
1
3
2
3
2
Response from Lorien Harmony Hall
August 2, 2024We greatly appreciate your feedback, as we always strive to provide the highest level of excellence in care and service to our residents. We are happy to hear that you had a very positive experience with our therapy team! Our door is always open and we welcome the opportunity to talk with you about your experience, and share many exciting upgrades we have recently made to our community. While our team is fully staffed, we regret that your experience was not up to the standard we aim to achieve. Harmony Hall was built on our strong reputation of providing the best in care to all residents, and to those with the highest levels of need, while giving them the opportunity to continue living in an assisted living setting. We hope you will revisit our community soon and leave with a more favorable impression the next time around.
My loved one was previously a resident at Lorien Harmony Hall and the experience was not great. My loved one was not receiving any therapy and I was unhappy with her lack of progress. I ended up moving her to another facility. Based on the experience, I would never recommend Lorien Harmony Hall to others.
2
2
2
2
2
2
2
My loved one is currently a resident at Lorien Harmony Hall and the experience has been mostly great. The friendliness, staff and care services are great. The music and activities are also great. I would recommend this facility to others.
4
5
5
5
5
5
5
Everyone we have worked with or come across have gone above and beyond to help and accommodate [name removed]. They have been extremely helpful in working with the family and trying to make [name removed] feel at ease. It is not an easy transition for anyone in that situation but I don't think you can find a better caring staff. The one drawback he knows of...the poor ladies at the front desk need those blinds installed they are being blinded when it's sunny.
5
5
4
5
5
5
5
The facility does not provide the same value aesthetically or for food choices for level 5 care patients on 3rd floor. The entire staff was awesome. When dad passed they sent a sympathy card with all signatures of those who interacted with my family. The facility also has a movie theater, which I felt was a plus too. The other nicety is that you can visit your loved one at anytime and spend the night if you choose to. Very caring staff overall...
5
5
4
5
5
5
4
My mother is currently a resident at Lorien Harmony Hall. I chose Harmony Hall because of the staff. The staff are incredible helpful, patient, and caring. The food is good! I have eaten there several times. I would definitely recommend Lorien Harmony Hall to others!
5
5
4
4
4
5
4
This facility is a great care facility, from [name removed] helping us with a difficult decision, to nursing care and [name removed] to help our mother feel comfortable and mingle with others. Take action for your love one, and having them enjoy this great facility.
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
I would definitely recommend to others. It was the best place for the best price. I would say it's a very nice place. My mom is happy there.
4
4
4
4
4
4
4
I am very impressed with Harmony Hall. My husband is getting great care. The quality of food is so much higher than his last place. His social life is so much better. Families have been taken into account with so many spaces to gather. A cafe and coffee shop makes it easy to stop by for short visits. There are lovely spaces that accommodate larger groups. The facility has adoctors who come in regularly, and a nurse practitioner is there 24 hours a day. My husband already had several specialists in the area, so Harmony Hall has a transport service for that. My youngest grandkids even went to a movie with my husband in the really nice in-house theater. There is beautiful green spaces are available, too, and a chapel. I am so relieved to have him in a place where he is treated as a whole human being, and not just a patient. My husband has had several life-threatening events in the past year and a half. These events, including at least two strokes, left him very disabled. He can't walk and only has use of one arm, but his mind is not bad. The facility has many levels of care, so he is basically getting the same nursing care as in a skilled nursing facility, but at the same time, has a small apartment, restaurant like food services, and many opportunities to meet people and to keep his mind active. A nice bonus is that the local college sends nursing students there for practical experience, so supervised young people are always happy and excited to help out.
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
We’ve encountered so many problems in this place. Here are just a few: 1) food is awful. My mother, who is a vegetarian, asked for a vegetarian menu. The menu lists many meal options. Yet she has been served the same meal (over and over and over) - a dried out black bean burger. 2) some (not all) of the aides have been condensing and impatient with my mom, which is demoralizing to her and her family. 3) there is no written schedule for physical therapy or occupational therapy. It’s impossible to know when the PTs and OTs are going to show up. My mom has not had PT for 5 days straight and there is no excuse for that. 4) my mom did not receive a shower for 5 days straight and now only receives a shower 2 times per week. 6. When we push the button for an aide or a nurse, it usually takes at least 30 minutes or more for anyone to arrive. There are some caring, nice and sweet staff. For example, [name removed] has been kind and responsive. But overall, this place not good.
3
2
1
1
2
1
1
The staff was nice but sometimes inconsistent, meaning arre time at times but seemingly absent at others. On occasion I was not greeted at the nurses station although the attending caregiver was at the desk. The were several times the caregivers were slow to respond to my mom. Is give this facility a C rating.
3
4
2
2
3
4
3
My loved one is currently a resident at Lorien Harmony Hall and overall her experience at this facility so far has been okay. Some of the staff are amazing, others are not. Staffing seems to be the biggest issue, as all of the nurses and caregivers feel it. Therefore, so do the residents. The cleanliness of the facility is great. The meals are not good. The quality of care is good. Overall, I would recommend Lorien Harmony Hall to others.
4
3
2
3
3
3
3
My loved one is currently a resident at Lorien Harmony Hall and everything has been great here. The staff works well together to provide a safe, friendly, and complete care network. It's a wonderful community environment! I would recommend this facility to family and friends.
5
5
4
5
5
5
5
There was one issue regarding cleanliness of my loved one's bathroom, but they immediately addressed it after I complained. No further issues since then. My loved one seems to be well taken care of, neat and clean. Her hair is done. Her bed is always made up. The staff are always working when I visit. Sometimes they are sitting with the patients in the community space, keeping them company. My loved one does complain about the food sometimes, but she can be hard to please.
4
5
4
5
5
5
5
What we really like about Lorien Harmony Hall is that I feel she is well cared for, and she is comfortable and safe. Harmony Hall isn't the newest or most modern of the facilities I toured, but ultimately I chose it because of the staff. They are incredibly friendly and caring. They all love my mother, and take the time to get to know her, and we would absolutely recommend this community to other families based on the experience we have had.
5
5
5
5
4
5
4
My friend's mother resided at Lorien Harmony Hall for over three years. The care she received there was top-notch! Staffers [name removed], [name removed], and [name removed]deserve special mention for their kindness and skill.
5
5
5
5
No data collected
5
No data collected
As the friend of someone whose Mom was a resident in assisted living and hospice, I can attest to the excellent care that Lorien caregivers and staff provided. Caregivers and staff were attentive and treated their patients like family. I would recommend this facility highly.
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
I would recommend this place. It's pretty good. Others that I know, that went here were satisfied, and I am also pretty satisfied. There is circumstances where it is difficult putting someone in here but overall, it is a pretty good place.
5
5
4
5
5
4.5
4
the director of admissions was very friendly and accommodating. they tried their best, but they may have been overwhelmed - so much so that they may have not been able to provide my loved one with the attention they needed. i do wish that they could've given me a few more calls to relay information regarding my loved ones level of care and needs. i did find this community expensive, so it was fortunate that i was able to separate the billing into two monthly payments. the only issue with that is that my loved one was only able to use two weeks out of the full month; when i brought this to their attention and requested a credit or compensation, it fell upon deaf ears.
4
3
No data collected
3
3
3
2
Our family had an in person tour and for our loved one it was just extremely way to large. There are five dining halls there and with the cognitive stage our loved one is at we thought it was would be entirely to overwhelming. However, we do have friends living there now and they absolutely love it
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Lorien Harmony Hall offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, Semi-Private and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.
A Place for Mom has scored Lorien Harmony Hall 8.8 out of 10 using our proprietary review score.
We assign review scores to give a more reliable view into senior living communities and home care agencies. Our review scores prioritize reviews that are recent — the past 24 months — because we know families need current information when choosing senior care.
Those with many recent, positive reviews receive a high review score, while providers with few recent reviews — regardless of how positive — receive a lower review score. Communities with no recent reviews will not have a review score, even if older reviews are positive. The maximum A Place for Mom review score a community can receive is 10 points.
Call (410) 531-6000 to reach a resident at Lorien Harmony Hall.
To reach a resident at Lorien Harmony Hall call: (410) 531-6000
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Arbor Terrace Fulton looks at senior living differently. That’s because we believe no matter where you are in life, you deserve to pursue your passions, maintain meaningful relationships, and live every day to its fullest. With our state-of-the-art senior living and memory care community designed...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Residences at Vantage Point in Columbia, Maryland, a not-for-profit, non-denominational Life Plan Community with all the extras you could imagine.You've done quite a lot in your life. When it comes to some things, you've done enough. Mowing the lawn, fixing the meals, shoveling snow, repairing...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
In elegant, residential environments, we deliver the finest in senior care, and are recognized internationally for both quality and innovation. Guided by our Principles of Service, Sunrise affords families peace-of-mind by providing today's seniors with a range of personalized assisted living...
Semi-Private
Since 1995, Kenwood Care has managed four Howard County assisted living homes with two in Fulton, one in Dayton, and one in Laurel. Each location is in a beautiful residential setting and features:UNPARALLELED ROUND THE CLOCK CARE -2.5-to-1 resident-to-caregiver ratio (3x higher than state...
Semi-Private
Since 1995, Kenwood Care has managed four Howard County assisted living homes with two in Fulton, one in Dayton, and one in Laurel. Each location is in a beautiful residential setting and features:UNPARALLELED ROUND THE CLOCK CARE -2.5-to-1 resident-to-caregiver ratio (3x higher than state...
Semi-Private
Since 1995, Kenwood Care has managed four Howard County assisted living homes with two in Fulton, one in Dayton, and one in Laurel. Each location is in a beautiful residential setting and features:UNPARALLELED ROUND THE CLOCK CARE -2.5-to-1 resident-to-caregiver ratio (3x higher than state...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Brighton Gardens of Columbia is located in the planned city of Columbia, Maryland, a city nationally ranked as one of the 10 Best Places to Live by MONEY, CNN, and FORBES. Against the perfect blend of parks, walking paths, and abundant shopping, Brighton Gardens of Columbia offers a beautifully...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Morningside House is a leading Assisted Living & Alzheimer's care provider proudly serving seniors and their families in our Baltimore/Washington area residences. Our communities offer the perfect mix of personal care and hospitality tailored to meet the individual needs of our residents. Our...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Set in a beautiful 2 acre green estate in Ellicott City, Shangri-La was designed for the ultimate living experience. Our 60 apartment community provides residents with the finest services and amenities in a family-oriented, supportive environment. Our care staff is compassionate, friendly, and...
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.