Add a review
For pricing & availability
I assume like most of the industry they are having a very hard time getting in maintaining staff. Shortages in aids and even dining room serving personnel are quite evident. All mean well, but much of the junior staff is most disinterested. Finally, my father does not participate in any of the activities likely by choice so I cannot offer a comment on them.... Read more
Read More
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Activities Offsite
Activities Onsite
Beautician Onsite
Devotional Services Offsite
Indoor Common Areas
Meals Provided
Outdoor Common Areas
8.6
Review Score
Review Score
77 reviews8.6
Out of 10
5 star
42%
4 star
38%
3 star
11%
2 star
6%
1 star
6%
A Place for Mom has scored Brookdale Eddy Pond West with 8.6 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 12 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, Brookdale Eddy Pond West has 77 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 4 out of 5.
4.2
4.3
3.8
4.0
4.1
4.5
3.9
Staff shows many quality care services. Residents appear to be happily engaged in many activities. Visitors are welcome and invited to join their loved ones for a meal. The grounds are well maintained and invite residents to enjoy the outside by walking around.
3.5
3.5
3.5
3.5
3.5
My father in law <br />roger carpenter Sr. has been living at Emeritus for two weeks. He is in his glory and just can't stop telling us how much he likes his new home. He loves the food he loves the tv and coffee room and he loves his apt. and most important he likes all the people he has met. I must say that Audrey and Patrick are a very important part to my father in laws happiness<br />
4.5
4.5
4.5
4.5
4.5
Eddy Pond is a lovely building with meals, transportation, and staff very helpful. The activities have been really great for my mom. Also laundry and housekeeping is part of the rent fee. I think it has been a great move for my mom.
4.5
4.5
4.5
5
3.5
They are very clean, and the staff is very friendly. Compared to other places I've seen it was the best find. The weakest point is the activities, they could use a little more variety, and they could happen a little more often. They take pets and the girls will help if they think she needs help. They have an incredibly supportive staff. They had one of the best staff, of all the places we saw.
5
5
5
3.5
5
This is an awesome place! It's beautiful, the apartments are fabulous, it is affordable, and my loved one really couldn't be happier here! I have nothing but good things to say and I'd rate them higher than 5 on every category if I could! As an example, the very first meal she had here we asked them if they had any Lactaid, as she is lactose intolerant, and they said they did not have any. Within 5 minutes the head chef came out to our table to introduce himself and said that he personally was going to go get some on his next break, and that from that point forward they'd always have some on hand for her!
5
5
5
5
5
The food quality and variety is not very good. Sometimes a main meal is hot dogs. They have an alternate menu that is supposed to have "grilled chicken breast" but there have been periods of time when they said they were out of chicken. There often is a shortage of staff in the dining area causing slow service. Activities are good when available. One person is in charge. If she is off, not much happens. No replacement when she's on vacation. Nursing care is very good. They all have been caring and keeping in touch with family if there are any issues. The facility and my mother's room are all kept very clean.
5
4
4.5
2.5
3
Response from Brookdale Eddy Pond West
July 21, 2014We apologize that you and your loved one’s experience with us isn’t meeting your expectations. We understand the importance of having various food options available for our resident’s varied tastes and dietary restrictions. We show on our records that our Executive Director has reached out to you and your loved one to ensure that our kitchen will always have the grilled chicken breast available at meal times. We would also like to invite your loved one to participate in our Menu Committee’s monthly meetings with the Dining Service Director to provide feedback on food options and give recommendations for future meals. Regarding meal service and activities, we work diligently to provide a range of activities for our residents to participate in, and we also have all members of staff chip in during meal service times to help ensure our residents are served efficiently. If you have any further concerns we invite you to reach out to our community management team.
My mother should have never been admitted to this place. She was always in her room and slupped in her chair.She was sent to the hospital for low blood pressure,which in the doctors opinion was NOT low for a person of 85. She stayed in the hodpital under observation for 9 days and was not allowed to return to Eddi pond. I got stuck with almost the full bill for 7000.00 dollars My mother was their only four days. You probably won't accept this complaint,but I don't care . Lawrence Kearney and sucked dry.
1.5
1.5
1.5
1.5
1.5
Response from Brookdale Eddy Pond West
July 1, 2014Lawrence, we are sorry your experience with us at Eddy Pond Lodge didn’t meet your expectations. We show on our records that prior to your mother moving into our community, we did an evaluation to determine your mother’s level of care. The level of care was agreed upon by all parties, and at that time, we were more than able to safely care for your mother. As is Emeritus policy, within the first thirty days of a resident moving in, we do a secondary evaluation to ensure that there have been no drastic changes in health that would either change the level of care needed or make it so that we could no longer safely care for the resident. During this second evaluation it was determined that your mother’s blood pressure was too low, and your mother’s Primary Care Physician recommended a short-term hospitalization. Our records also show that your mother’s Primary Care Physician recommended that your mother be placed in a Skilled Nursing Facility following her hospital stay. While your mother would have been more than welcome to return to our community, we understand your desire to have her closer to your home and want nothing but the best for you and your mother. In addition, we have on file the agreement to reimburse you for the remaining days of the month of May for your mother’s level of care and medication. If you have any further concerns about your experience with us at Eddy Pond Lodge, we invite you to speak directly with our management team, or you can contact our Ethics First Program at www.emeritus.com/ethics to have your concerns addressed directly to the Emeritus Leadership team.
There was enough parking. The food was okay, but I didn’t really get a chance to try it. It was a clean community and the staff was friendly enough. There are enough activities. It’s an okay value for the money.
4
4
3.5
3.5
4
The food would be a 5, it looked good, but I haven't actually tasted it yet. There haven't been any complaints. They are a good value, and it was a good, clean place, and the location worked best for us.
5
4.5
4
5
5
Our experience at Eddy Pond-Woods has been wonderful and has met or exceeded our expectations. The staff is thoughtful, courteous, skilled, and a pleasure to deal with on a regular basis. The facility itself is bright, open, extremely clean, very welcoming, and well-designed to meet the needs of its residents. We would recommend this facility highly.
4.5
4.5
4.5
4.5
4.5
This place looked great, the facility itself was beautiful and the employees were all incredibly friendly and professional. We toured this location when we were looking into options for our loved one. The level of care was a bit higher than what our loved one needed at the time, but this place is definitely at the top of our list if at some point we need to look into assisted living.
5
5
5
5
5
My relative is housed in the Memory Care Unit in a spacious and inviting suite. However. . . Attentiion to the residents is scanty, and requests are acknowledged , but unattended to. Lip service is order of the day. Resident assistants pay more attention to themselves in the "activity" room and conversing endlessly in a foreign language with each other, or privately on their cell phones. I have witnessed on more than a few occasions where no interaction is even attempted to reach the attending residents. The television in the center of the room blares and glares. On more than a few occasions, the reception desk is unattended, and no one seems to ever know answers to random questions or inquiries. Management tries hard . . . .
3.5
3
3
2
3
spoke to Audrey- sounds great- many activities and trips, piano, restaurant style dining, shuttle, laundry, housekeeper, utilities (except phone), recent renovation studio $2825/month
5
5
5
5
5
Over emphasis on social to the detriment of medical.
3
3
3
3
3
#4-visit. 130-residents [117-active;13-memory]. Two 3-level buildings; comparatively larger rooms; in the process of 3-5 month refurbishing of main complex - $500/m discount if take unit as will have to be short-term move to other building or another unit. Cleanliness average [resident laundry in hallway for p/u] -- needs the refurbishing. No welcoming staff at front desk; although 2-employees sitting/talking/eating-ice-cream ... Seemed unkowing when asked a question. Loud, ambient noise on main level. Only [2] on-site, off-the-lobby computers for resident training/use. No mention of available PT services. Limited discussions of care levels -- setup on 'cost per blocks of minutes'; limited discussions of monthly costs/fees [note discount above] - base care [independent] at about $2900 [incld $50 paperwork fee].Price aside, not high on the list.
2
2
2
2
2
Was nice, priced well. Liked a lot about this place, size of rooms and activities.
4
4
4
4
4
Beautiful pastoral setting. Very good value. Assistance has 5 levels (customized). The Woods is more secluded and tranquil than the Lodge. Larger than Draper Place. Easily accessible from Rte 290.
4
4
4
4
4
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Brookdale Eddy Pond West offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.
A Place for Mom has scored Brookdale Eddy Pond West 8.6 out of 10 using our proprietary review score.
We assign review scores to give a more reliable view into senior living communities and home care agencies. Our review scores prioritize reviews that are recent — the past 24 months — because we know families need current information when choosing senior care.
Those with many recent, positive reviews receive a high review score, while providers with few recent reviews — regardless of how positive — receive a lower review score. Communities with no recent reviews will not have a review score, even if older reviews are positive. The maximum A Place for Mom review score a community can receive is 10 points.
Call (508) 832-2200 to reach a resident at Brookdale Eddy Pond West.
To reach a resident at Brookdale Eddy Pond West call: (508) 832-2200
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
The Lodge at Eddy Pond offers spacious apartments ranging in size from studio to two bedroom apartments. Many apartments offer a wonderful view of Eddy Pond, that can be seen from your private balcony. People say “there is just something about this community”. Whether it is the very active...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
The peaceful, serene, scenic location and beautiful structure that was originally built in 1900 to serve as the convent for the Sisters of Notre Dame, today houses the vibrant du Lac Assisted Living community.Our mission remains deeply committed to that of Saint Julie Billiart, founder of the...
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Residents of Shrewsbury Crossings enjoy the pleasure of a close-knit community, the privacy of a spacious apartment home, and the peace of mind that comes from knowing our staff is always available to cater to their individual needs. Our spacious assisted living apartments have room for favorite...
Semi-Private
Welcome to Dodge Park, Thank you for your interest in Dodge Park Rest Home and Day Club. Dodge Park Rest Home is pleased to continue its tradition of service to the community. This year (2012) will be a milestone for Dodge Park Rest Home and Day Club, when we will celebrating our 45 years...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
The Residence at Orchard Grove is a brand new monthly rental community in Shrewsbury. This luxury senior living community features independent and assisted living apartments along with a supportive neighborhood for those living with dementia and Alzheimer's.Featuring LCB's Everyday Gourmet dining...
Semi-Private, Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Resting at the foot of Worcester's western hills is the historic village of Tatnuck... a place filled with family, fond memories and tradition. Today, traditions continue at Tatnuck Park at Worcester, a respected and valued assisted living community. Built on the site of a former family estate,...
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.