For pricing & availability
It is a good life here. Lots of opportunities to meet new and interesting people. The good activities are excellent. [name removed] does a great job! It is a very friendly place. Compared to others, it's spacious and comfortable.... Read more
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
4.5
4.7
4.0
4.5
4.4
4.4
4.2
Unfortunately, it didn't live up to the sales presentation. It was not a positive experience for my mother. It was not particularly warm and welcoming. I visited many retirement residences in Victoria and this facility would definitely be far from my top recommendation in the city. (In discussion with others, I heard similar feedback) My mother has since moved to a new facility. A much better choice.
4
3
2
No data collected
3
3
3
It is a good life here. Lots of opportunities to meet new and interesting people. The good activities are excellent. [name removed] does a great job! It is a very friendly place. Compared to others, it's spacious and comfortable.
4
5
5
4
5
5
4
Very nice friendly place to live, and enjoy fellowship. Enjoy activities and easy to retain information when needed. Nice to have bus service.
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
happy hour
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
People here are very, very nice! I am very happy where I am and have no reason to want to leave. I am happy here. Staff makes this place feel like home! Thank you.
4
4
5
5
4
5
5
I am quite a loner in all honesty. I enjoy the weekly happy hours he socializing is wonderful.
5
5
3
5
No data collected
5
Great place, friendly staff, always willing to help. Great activities and entertainment.
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
I have met the most wonderful group.of people there. The staff is amazing. Every staff member calls you by your first name. The building is like a luxury hotel. The grounds are well.maintained. The meals are fabulous. All.in all its a great place to live.
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
Unfortunately, it doesn't live up to the sales presentation. It has not been as positive an experience for my Mother as we had originally hoped upon arrival. I've visited many retirement residences in Victoria and this would not be my top recommendation.
4
4
3
No data collected
3
3
4
The residents were not given what was promised by the marketing team. Potential new residents might want to stay for a week to actually assess the environment. I would tell others to talk to other residents and their families. Check out the laundry room, recycle containers and common bathrooms for cleanliness. Since the community is "Independent Living", care is provided by 3rd party agencies, for which residents pay. Meal choices were offered, but it was often poor quality with too much salt and little fresh vegetables. The grounds are meticulously maintained. Apparently, there has been some improvement since I have left. I left the Victorian due to the lack of cleaning and declining quality of meals.
1
2
1
1
No data collected
2
1
Response from Victorian at McKenzie
July 20, 2023Thanks for reaching out to share your experience at our community. I’m happy to share that the community is fully staffed, and we would love to have you visit sometime to see the positive changes we've made. If you’d like to talk more, you can send me an email at CustomerService@AtriaSeniorLiving.com.
I chose Victorian at McKenzie because I just liked the overall atmosphere of the facility. It is hard coming from a house, but the apartment sizes are adequate for what I need. I would recommend this facility to others looking.
5
5
4
No data collected
No data collected
No data collected
4
We chose Victorian at McKenzie because of the close location as well as the cost was reasonable based on a lot of other places we looked into. The apartment sizes are excellent, my mother has a studio and it is one of the larger ones and it is just a little smaller than some of the 1 bedrooms. They do have a weekly menu and they are chef prepared meals on site, my mom really enjoys them. The staff is very accommodating and they have an outdoor vising space in the front and back for guests to visit their loved ones. I would recommend to others looking.
5
5
5
4
No data collected
5
5
I would recommend this community to others. The community is fairly new, the staff is nice, rooms are large, and the food is good.
5
5
No data collected
5
5
5
4
I am very angry and disappointed. The stay was wonderful and staff very friendly, so I have no problem with that aspect. I was overcharged and it was deliberate. When I first inquired about a month's respite stay, I was quote a rate of $2,300. This same rate was on both the lease and agreement. But very underhandedly there was addendum that mentioned $110 per day rate, but no indication where that charge applied. I normally thought it was for stays under one month. Now I find out that that any stay under three months is charged the daily rate. This is not in any verbal or written correspondence. So I have been overcharged $1,220. This is not the way to do business.
3
5
4.5
3
0.5
Response from Victorian at McKenzie
February 5, 2019Denyse, The Victorian at McKenzie appreciates you expressing your concerns. Will you share your contact information with me at [removed]? We take such concerns seriously and we would like to connect you with our leadership team to discuss further.
Very good location, all expected conveniences are there, and the price is right - exactly comparable to the price for the same here in Calgary. Had a tour, ate lunch, and met the staff. It's one of the two front-runners in my upcoming choice. And oh how nice is the weather!
5
5
5
5
5
I would have given the Victorian a great review but after respite care this August, I have not received my damage deposit back. I was told the refund came from head office but they didn't have trouble taking the deposit from me. Also they didn't inform me there would be renovations on our floor, tearing out carpeting, painting etc. It was really disruptive. One painter set off the fire alarm twice!!! The staff was friendly and the food excellent but I wouldn't chose this place for my retirement. I WANT MY DEPOSIT BACK.
4.5
4.5
2.5
2
1.5
I liked it the best but too expensive.
5
5
5
5
5
Mom is having a fabulous time living here. She has already made friends and gone on a few bus trips to stores and out to eat. She finds the residents to be very friendly and engaging and sociable. The community is clean and very well maintained except for the elevator. The residents living in a 3 story building which is long in length but the building only has 1 elevator for its residents and recently it has been out of service 3 separate times. So for us, that is a safety feature that is a little concerning. The food is hit or miss most days it's very good however there are times where the meals aren't good. The location of the community for us is fabulous it is so close to our home and her church.
4
4
4
4
4
This is a nice community. The staff is caring and they are always willing to help him with getting him involved with the activities. This is a nice clean environment. I like that he is making friends.The community is very clean and we like environment. The menu is appealing and he seems to be pleased with the variety of the means.
5
5
5
5
5
Mom enjoyed touring here, lovely rooms and grounds. She really appreciated the brownie-to-go, and so did I!
5
5
5
5
5
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Victorian at McKenzie offers 2 Bedrooms, Studio and 1 Bedroom. Learn more.
Call (250) 381-9496 to reach a resident at Victorian at McKenzie.
To reach a resident at Victorian at McKenzie call: (250) 381-9496
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.